Religion: Restless Ruminations

Several of Tim Ferriss’s blogs mention meditation and he writes in them that he tries to spend 15 minutes a day meditating. He stressed the point that he is coming from a secular viewpoint and is in no way promoting religion or a spiritual mindset. I think I might have to disagree with him.

Why?

l46cstpetihc1rx9k
giphy.com

Here is the definition of religion: “a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, especially when considered as the creation of a superhuman agency or agencies, usually involving devotional and ritual observances, and often containing a moral code governing the conduct of human affairs.” via dictionary.com

Meditation is the extended process by which a person clears one’s mind to find a better sense of well being. With that in mind, meditation often talks about expanding one’s awareness to reach out to the greater universe. Above, it talks about the idea of observing rituals and striving to ascertain the purpose of the universe.

We know that there is a fixed point from which everything came. Whether it be a big bang or a supernatural being speaking something into existence; we know we came from somewhere or at least that is the theory. One could argue that we are nowhere and that we simply exist within our minds. Who knows, maybe we are all one cell amoebas thinking of grand adventures while floating in a primordial goo.

geaclxzf2pu76
giphy.com

Well, that is really more of a philosophical debate and perhaps I should finish the Thomas Paine book  I was supposed to read for philosophy 101. I have the book around here somewhere, at least I think (therefore I am). Maybe I’m confused because I slept through half of that class. I wish I didn’t, but such is life.

I’m getting to my point, I swear on the Bible? 

I grew up as a Christian. I went to church every Sunday and I followed the path I was supposed to follow. God was the dad I never had. He was bigger than life and Jesus was the savior, the one who heals all. He saved me from my sinful life (which that definition is debateable; sure I’m not perfect but sin is such an ugly word). I prayed every night and I talked to others about Jesus, you could say I was a Jesus freak. An Evangelical Covenant girl for life!

Paradise wasn’t so perfect as there was something that always rubbed me the wrong way and it was the glaring lack of a female deity. Over time I began to think of the Holy Spirit as the feminine aspect of the godhead. More and more I prayed to her, asked her for guidance and support. Although I tried to hide it, by the end of high school my belief in god had faded like an early morning fog. By senior year all I had was a vague memory of what god was. It went downhill from there.

By the time I graduated college I wasn’t a Christian anymore. At graduation I looked around at those I  thought I knew and realized I didn’t want to be like them. I never could be like them, because I was different. Intrinsically and completely different. I don’t know why it took me so long to figure it out. Sometimes, I’m a slow learner.

I’m a quarter Irish and I believe the celtic pantheon is written in my genetic code. Why? Because I think there is some credence to morphic fields and morphic inheritance.  I’ve found that the pagan ways suit my thought patterns. The surprising thing is that I feel more connected to the world when I think of the creation deity as being female. For me the polytheistic idea of gods/goddesses really isn’t multiple people but more of the same god/goddess wearing a different hat. Like I’m a writer, a horseback rider, a salesperson, a cat owner, a daughter, a sister, a friend, an acquaintance, a customer, a client, a dreamer, a sleeper, a doubter, a believer. Do you get the picture?

More than that, though, I’ve noticed a recurring theme within multiple belief systems: the triad.

Think: Freud’s idea of Id, Ego and Superego. The holy trinity Father, Son and Holy Spirit. The Threefold goddess Maiden, Mother and Crone. Why does the idea of three premiate throughout different belief systems? It is known that the most stable arrangement for vehicles is actually the tricycle. I mean think about it. When one side is weak it has the other two to lean on. There isn’t a way to unsettle the tripod. The transfer of energy require three parts, nevermind I’m not a scientist.. Oh, and the cycle of life has three parts: Life, Death and Rebirth.  A story has a beginning, middle and end. Childhood, Adulthood, Elderhood.

The idea of Karma is that whatever you do comes back to you three fold. Or Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. Love your neighbor as yourself. The key here is learning to love, accept and embrace who you are, which leads me back to meditation and Tim Ferriss’s comment. I think any time we do meditation or reflect on our lives we are making a conscious decision to engage the other parts of the self, which opens up the pathway for energy to move. Since we are all made of energy we are, in a sense, honoring what made us.

vjyl3yvgcliwa
giphy.com

So, the old saying of treat your body like a temple is true, we are temples of the self, of energy and isn’t that interesting? I’m excited to see our world shifting back to a whole food feed the body and mind mentality as well as the movement of lean living. Let’s treat the mother the way she should be treated.

****All puns are clearly incidental as I’m not witty enough to think them up on purpose.***

Leave a Reply

