Taking Action

Growth: 4. The development from a simpler to a more complex stage.

As I sit here forming this post I keep wondering why I’ve had to deal with this mess of a life. I keep wishing I could go back in time back to a simpler stage of my life. I wish I didn’t have to budget and plan ahead. I wish I could go back to being in school and the most difficult thing I had to deal with was whether or not I wanted to keep riding. Oh, how I thought that my life was difficult back then. Those years were cake walks compared to the choices I am now faced with.

Which leads me to what I want to talk to you about today.

Each writer must make an active decision to grow.

I am naturally gifted with being able to learn quickly. I’ve used that skill to avoid having to actually learn something. However, that strength is also a weakness. I am at a point in my life where I have to actually learn how to do things. I have to stop hoping someone will hire me based on my potential and instead I have to give them quantifiable skills that make me an asset. After college I did the safe thing- the thing I knew how to do. I became a horse trainer. It was easy. I taught lessons and I helped people progress. I worked with horses and made them more rideable but I wasn’t happy. I got bored. Oh, how quickly I got bored.

So, I began the rough journey of finding myself (I’m still on that journey). It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be. It is, well, it has been hell. I am exhausted. I’ve been pushed to the limits multiple times. I keep saying enough but instead I’m pushed harder. I’m lazy. I hate having to work. I’m a hard worker but I’m very good at doing a whole lot of nothing. I’ve mastered that skill. Which is why this time in my life is so difficult.

I’m taking action though, and that is key. No matter what you do. No matter what it is that you love to do. Make sure to always take action and make the difficult choices. The choices you’d rather not make. Sometimes, having to sacrifice is better than having to give something up completely.

2 thoughts on “Taking Action

  1. At 65 years old, I’m still figuring out what I want to be when I grow up. The secret is to keep growing, keep learning. We probably won’t end up where we thought we were headed, but will have great adventures along the way. – Fawn

Leave a Reply

