NaNoWriMo

I am a few days late. Uh, six days to be exact. However, I’d like to say that I have a valid excuse. My car got totalled last week. A guy hit me with his utility trailer. I said it that way because whenever I say I was in an accident everyone assumes I was at fault (I wasn’t).

Thankfully my physical injuries are relatively minor. I injured my lower back and I have headaches but no broken bones nor any facial damage. The emotional and financial repercussions of the accident are substantial. Direct and indirect costs due to the crash have reached about ten grand and will increase as I have to go to the chiropractors and physical therapy. I guess I’ve hit a spate of bad luck.

So, I’ve not had the energy to write much. In fact I think I hit a large writer’s block. I said I would do NaNoWriMo though and so I shall. I’m writing it on Tablo- a book writing site. I like it because it is very user friendly and I love the interface. It is very intuitive and I would recommend it to any and all of my writer friends.

Here is a link to the beginning of my NaNoWriMo novel keep in touch and check back often. I have about another 100 words to write tonight and then I’ll call it quits.

My goal is to hit 50000 words this month. At the moment that means I need to write about 2084 words per day. I’m shooting for about 2500 words a day but we’ll see what happens. The most important thing is consistency. Writing is all about consistency.

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your accident, but relieved you were not hurt worse. Perhaps you could weave a story about it into your writing this month, based on your first-hand experience. Make lemons into lemonade, or something similar. Kudos for not letting it stop your writing. Hugs to you – Fawn

  2. Wow. I’d been wondering why there were no updates…and I’m really sorry to hear the reason. I too am impressed that in spite of the late start you’re powering on, and I hope your injuries won’t keep you down too long! 🙂

    1. I was thinking about you Aspiring Scribbler and how I promised we’d dp NaNoWriMo together. I have about 1000 words to start off with. How has your first week of NaNoWriMo gone? Do you have a link to your blog?

      1. I’m doing pretty well so far, keeping just ahead of the recommended daily word counts. I hit 12,500 words this afternoon, and I’m hoping to get to 13,333 by midnight. I haven’t shared anything I’ve written anywhere yet, as I’m painfully aware that it is a first draft, and will probably need some (or a lot of) re-working before I’m brave enough to show it to anyone.

        The only reason I haven’t gone through it with a red pen yet is because I really want to hit 50,000 words first. When I’ve validated a winning word count, I’m going to be ruthless!

      2. I am sp excited for you!!! Just know that everyone os on the same boat and NaNoWriMo is about writing a novel in a month. Not about writing a perfect best seller in a month. Whenever you feel ready to share I am first in line to read it! Congrats on being ahead of schedule. I have a lot of catching up to do!

Leave a Reply

