On Being a Procrastinator and Panic Attacks

This is a post about:

Oh good lord and lady, I’m quite sure I lost a brain around here somewhere. That is what I’m feeling like these days. I’m getting all worried because November is fast approaching and although I have an idea of what I want to do I don’t think it’s going to work out.

However, I’m going to reach within myself and find the calm I need to stay on task. My mind and thoughts have been wandering lately. I’m worried that everything I’m hoping for is going to disappear and I’m quite certain I’ve been living life all wrong. So horribly, horribly wrong. I’m too much in my own thoughts.

I’m hitting that overwhelmed spot where I don’t know how I’m going to do any of this. I have to write the next serial for Duchesses of Dark and Light and I know where I want it to go but do I have the guts to send it in that direction (there are several cliches and writing tropes that I’m walking along the edge of but I don’t want to fall into them).

It’s Sula’s big wedding day and I have to figure out whether or not she goes through with it.

Does she accept that she has to go along with someone else’s whim or does she put her foot down and flee. What about Frederick. Does he like her? How could he like her? They just met. Is it Fate that they met (I believe in fate) do I cut the ties between them? I know what direction I want it to go in but it seems like direction is so overused. Why would I want to use it again?  Or do I give in to what I know the story needs?

Sula is strong but naive. She’s lived in a world of her own. She’s been on her own for years and now she’s living with people fawning over her and Sula is unable to use her powers. She’s not happy so why isn’t she leaving? How do I translate what is jumping around in my head onto readable words for my readers.

Oh readers, what am I missing?

Most of what I’ve been reading for writing tips is ‘Just do it.’  NaNoWriMo has a huge forum dedicated to helping writers write better but I think I just need to write.

Leave a Reply

