Chasing the Dream

We all have dreams and desires. We all hope that things will fall into place and that we’ll conquer our problems and insecurities. I am no stranger to worries and fears. In fact, I am well versed in how to deal with panic attacks and stress and the episodes where it seems like the sky is falling.

I accomplished my big goals rather quickly. I’ve written about this before so I won’t write in depth about it again- I reached my goals and I forgot to plan new goals. It took me about a year to figure things out. I’ve gotten a handhold and I’m climbing back up the mountain. When I fell it hurt. My body sustained multiple injuries. I thought I was going to die. I didn’t. I’m stronger now and I know I will succeed no matter what it takes.

The company I now work for is a national chain. It has a policy of upward mobility and if a person wants to move up they can- they just have to prove themselves. I’ve proven myself over and over again. I had three different managers “fight” over me. That has done wonders to my self-confidence. My plan is to move up the ranks as quickly as I can. At the same time I am developing my writing business by writing for various magazines and writing for the Trakehner Association. I’m busy. Too busy for a social life but I know that if I put in the hard work and forgo rest I will succeed and I’ll be able to enjoy life.

That is what chasing the dream is all about- you have to be willing to walk away from your dreams and do whatever it takes to support them. Never in a million years did I think I would be working in agricultural retail. It never dawned on me as an option. Here I am though and I’m stronger because of it. I’ve had to learn about financial stability. Yes, I still slip up. I still spend too much money too fast. I’m getting better though, I’m not nearly as frivolous with money as I used to be. This translates into becoming a better money manager which I’ll need those skills when I am running my own businesses. I am developing a networking base and a client base. Once I have those in place money will start trickling in (it already has). The biggest thing is that I just have to stay the course and not give up.

Things are moving towards a positive light.

2 thoughts on “Chasing the Dream

Leave a Reply

