Following a dream

Too often writers get frustrated with the fact that their career isn’t moving quick enough; this post challenges that mindset.

triggershorse

When I was a young girl my heroine was Louisa May Alcott, because of the amazingly real stories she wrote about the March sisters and their family’s adventures. I wanted an attic corner with a cozy couch where I could write my stories without interruption, and maybe even make a bit of money along the way. My admiration for Louisa grew as I learned more about her real family and how her hard-working mother (the inspiration for Marmee) spent her life trying to support them while her father tried out his various utopian schemes and thought “lofty thoughts” with his similarly minded utopian dreamer friends. Louisa’s writings, especially her “pot-boilers” written under a pseudonym, also helped keep a roof over the Alcott family’s heads.

I dabbled a bit with writing along the way, collecting more than a few rejection slips for my poetry, and serving as the newsletter editor for…

View original post 276 more words

Leave a Reply

